SSCP® – Systems Security Certified Practitioner

The (ISC)2 Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP®) certification covers seven domains constituting ‘the compendium of topics pertaining to an Information Systems Security Practitioner’ or the CBK (Common Body of Knowledge). The SSCP® training prepares you for the official SSCP® exam. This five-day program covers all the seven domains.

Course description

During the SSCP® course you’ll gain the ability to tackle the operational demands and responsibilities of security practitioners, including authentication, security testing, intrusion detection/prevention, incident response and recovery, attacks and countermeasures, cryptography, malicious code countermeasures, and more.
The SSCP® training schedule consist of the following:

Day 1:

  • Domain 2: Security Operations and Administration
  • •Review Questions Domain 2

Day 2:

  • Domain 1: Access Controls
  • Review Questions Domain 1
  • Domain 3: Risk Identification, Monitoring and Analysis
  • Review Questions Domain 3

Day 3:

  • Domain 4: Incident Response and Recovery
  • Review Questions Domain 4
  • Domain 5: Cryptography

Day 4:

  • Domain 5: Cryptography
  • Review Questions Domains 5
  • Domain 6: Network and Communications Security
  • Review Questions Domains 6

Day 5:

  • Domain 7: Systems and Application Security
  • Review Questions Domains 7
  • Test exam

Exam & Certification

The actual exam takes 3 hours and consists of 125 English multiple choice questions. To be SSCP® certified you have to meet the following requirements:

  • Experience in at least 1 out of the 7 SSCP® CBK domains
  • One year cumulative professional and relevant work experience
  • Pass the exam
  • Declare to adhere to the (ISC)2 Code of Ethics
  • Endorsement by an (ISC)2-certified professional (SSCP®, CAP, SSCP®, CISSP®) in good standing:
    • (ISC)2 Code of Ethics, pay Annual Maintenance Fees (AMF), maintain Continuing Professional Education (CPE) credits

Intended audience

Network Security Engineer, Systems Administrator, Security Administrator, Security Specialist, Security Analyst, Systems/Network Analyst, Systems Engineer, Security Consultant, Network Administrator, Database Administrator.